Queen's Anniversary Award acknowledges Oxehealth founder for innovation in biomedical engineering

Oxford University and Oxehealth's Lionel Tarassenko have been named for The Queen's Anniversary Prize for pioneering work in biomedical engineering. 

Awarded every two years, The Queen's Anniversary Prize recognises universities and colleges, which have demonstrated excellence, innovation, impact and societal benefit.

Last week, the Oxehealth founder travelled to St James' Palace to hear the announcement, in advance of receiving the award, which will be presented at an official ceremony early next year.

Lionel TarassenkoFor the past seven years, Oxford's Institute of Biomedical Engineering (IMBE), a research institute in the Department of Engineering Science under Lionel's leadership, has been leading the way for innovation in medical technology.

As the first joint spin-out from the University of Oxford and Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust, Oxehealth is delighted to receive recognition for its innovative contributions to healthcare advancement.

Oxehealth Founding Director, Professor Lionel Tarassenko CBE, said: "The move of engineering faculty to the IBME on the medical campus in Headington in April 2008 has been the catalyst for a remarkable period of innovation in medical technology in Oxford."

"Oxford is leading the world in showing how engineers can work together with clinicians to address unmet needs in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of major diseases and conditions."

This year, 21 UK universities and colleges have been awarded prizes recognising a wide range of cutting-edge work across a host of disciplines. The Queen's Anniversary Prize medals will be awarded at a special ceremony at Buckingham Palace in February.